All Matter

I once heard the question posed, if a group of people were stuck on an island, who would be worthy of being saved? Most chose, the healthiest, strongest and the smartest. Perhaps, they were chosen because, their quality of life seemed more valued.

Unfortunately, I feel like this same concept applies to people who are elderly and those with disabilities during this COVID19 pandemic. I was recently listening to a NPR (National Public Radio) article, on how the Department of Health and Human Services of Civil Rights put out guidelines stating, the elderly and people with disabilities should not be pushed to the back of the line when it comes to receiving quality medical care. Thanks to several advocacy groups, this issue was made a priority. Just because of a person have a disability, doesn’t mean he or she should be discounted ever virus or no virus. People with disabilities have just as much value as anyone else.  

The radio article went on to say, many who rely on ventilators and have their own, are in fear of catching the virus and being hospitalize only to have their ventilator taken and given to someone else who’s perceived, to have better quality of life.

https://www.npr.org/2020/03/28/823254597/hhs-warns-states-not-to-put-people-with-disabilities-at-the-back-of-the-line-for?fbclid=IwAR2eqXMlK9P0mCfNJxOS4f_EzSZaru66a-k_hhDeFOuxfIv25ISTBCEzR3k.

I also read an article, a nonprofit organization in New York that maintains several homes for people with developmental disabilities, reported a massive COVI19 outbreak in 37 locations. Once again, these are people with disabilities who will not only have to worry about dying but, being given their God given right to receive care to at least, try and get well.

Who determines someone’s quality of life? My life is good. I have my challenges but, it’s truly good. I would hate to think, if I should happen to get sick, I wouldn’t receive the best medical care because I have a disability.

I keep hearing and seeing the saying, We’re all in this together. Don’t forget, the elderly and people with disabilities are in that we group too!

Until next time, stay safe and uplifted.

Shari

4 thoughts on “All Matter

  1. This disease is making all of us think about who and what we value—especially who. It’s also making it clear that we don’t all have an equal chance to recover or even survive in this climate. In my opinion, we have to think about what changes we need to make in society to allow for equality.

    Like

Leave a comment